Skip to content

And then it was spring

February 13, 2011

snow-13feb2011 

This is what it looked like driving to work last week. It’s a crappy cell phone picture but you get the idea. Another week, another snow fall. This time we only had about two or three inches.  The roads were mostly clear except for a few miles of icy roads that would have made a nifty skating rink.  By afternoon, even those stretches of road were clear. That was Thursday. By this weekend, we had temperatures hovering around 60 degrees. It’s supposed to be in the 60s all week, getting close to 70 by the weekend.  It’s been a wild winter.

Since it was so nice this weekend, I washed all of the salt and snow dirt off of the car and checked to see if the bluebird houses were ready for spring. 

Then there’s Dexter. He’s had to hit new sources for his paper fix. The other day, I caught him running down the hall with a balled up piece of paper I had thrown away. Unfortunately I didn’t have a camera handy. Now that I’ve put all newspapers and magazines out of ferret reach, he’s scouting out the trash for his paper fix.

dexter-13-feb2011 "Well I wouldn’t have to look in the trash if you had left the
newspaper where I could reach it."
– Dexter

And yes, his nails have been trimmed now.  They’ve been growing way too fast lately.  I feel like I’ve been trimming them every couple of days.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. houseof9lives permalink
    February 14, 2011 10:11 AM

    Oh, a few days ago I would have said how I am so jealous of all the white precipitation you’ve gotten, but at this point, I’m over cold. Bring on Spring!!!

    Love and kisses to Dexter the Paper Hunter!

  2. February 14, 2011 11:48 AM

    It was nearly 50 here yesterday! CRAZY. I’m sure we’ll have more snow, though…

    Poor Dexter. Chaos has to mine the trash for toys, too.

  3. February 15, 2011 3:09 PM

    That is a hilarious picture of Dexter.

  4. March 2, 2011 11:05 PM

    Oh, 70 degrees! Lucky, lucky, lucky. Our snow is finally melting, but I won’t feel safe until April!

    Dexter is too funny. Is it OK for him to have paper to play with that you give him, or is it bad for him?

    • March 5, 2011 11:18 AM

      Dexter doesn’t eat the paper, he just hides it and shreds it. I let him have it if he doesn’t make a big mess or if the paper isn’t something I want.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

