Skip to content

And Then They Were Gone

October 10, 2010

I’ve been watching the hummingbirds at my feeder all summer. As it got closer to the end of summer, there were more and more hummingbirds at the feeder. Sometimes as many as four at one time. Most of the time they would chase each other off. Some days, they were too hot and thirsty to play the chase game. Some of the hummingbirds figured out that if they approached the feeder at just the right angle, they could sneak a drink without being seen.  (Click to embiggen.)

hummingbirds-19sep2010

They trick me every year though. Just when I decide that I’m not putting enough sugar water in the feeder, they are gone and I a feeder full of sugar water. This year they left town right at the stroke of fall. One day the feeder is busy and the next it’s abandoned.

I swear I keep trying to post more often but the long hours lately haven’t left much posting time.  It’s getting better though. In the meantime, here’s some things I’ve found on the Internet.

Found on the Internet

This illustrated guide to a PhD keeps it all in perspective.

Star Wars done with paper. I love the animation and the music in this video. I’ve watched it several times already.

Why cats suck at social media, although there are some cats on Twitter who have way more followers than I do. 

I’m kind of fascinated by this mind-bending geologic time spiral from the USGS. It’s available in poster form too.

Speaking of mind-bending, this mash-up of Pink Floyd and the Bee Gees, Stayin’ Alive In The Wall, is strange but surprisingly catchy. Watch out for ear worms.

A Visitor

Katie cat has an admirer. He/She wants Katie to come out and play, but Katie will have nothing to do with it. There’s nothing but hissing, spitting, and growling from her side while Stray Cat runs his paws and claws longingly down the glass.

straycat-19sep2010

“Oh you beautiful gray cat, won’t you
come out and play with me?” – Stray Cat

straycat2-19sep2010

“Mom, there’s a Peeping Tom outside!” – Clyde

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 11, 2010 8:07 AM

    Hopefully things settle down for you soon!

    Good links – I hadn’t seen the cats & social media, or the PhD one. 🙂

    Hee hee – I wonder what that Peeping Tom thinks of the ferrets?

  2. October 12, 2010 10:12 AM

    We only had the odd-ball hummingbird this year. When I was little my cat, Captain Hook, and the neighbor’s cat – which I can’t remember the name of, would play together like kids. Their cat would come to our door, much like the kitty in your picture and meow until we’d let Captain Hook out to play and then they’d go terrorize the neighborhood together. And if Captain Hook went outside first then he’d go to the neighbors and sit at their door meowing until they let their cat out. The whole neighborhood got a kick out of those two.

  3. October 12, 2010 8:24 PM

    I’ve never tried a hummingbird feeder, but I would like to. Do you have orioles too? I have seen feeders for those and they are such beautiful birds.

    I’m glad Clyde is there to defend Katie’s honor!

  4. October 15, 2010 12:12 AM

    Love the Pink Floyd/Bee Gees mash up!

Trackbacks

  1. Stumbling Over Chaos :: Loungetastic Linkity!

Leave a Reply

