Skip to content

Post Halloween Wrap-Up

November 7, 2010

I know I’m late posting about Halloween. Better late than never.  Rather than NaNoWriMo, I’m trying to do art every day this month.  Since I’m notoriously bad at these things, I promised myself that I wouldn’t beat myself up about it if I miss some days.  Anyway, on to Halloween.

We usually have lots of trick-or-treaters in our neighborhood. They actually come in large groups in trucks, vans, and trailers.  It’s probably a good thing I didn’t need to drive anywhere because I’m not sure I could have gotten out of the driveway.  This year, I even ran out of candy way early, so no leftovers for me.

Chris had a link to fuzzy-headed pumpkins on one of her Friday linkity posts, so I had to give it a try.  By the way, each Friday Chris has one of the best linkity posts around.  Give yourself plenty of time to go through it.  So I painted faces on my little pumpkins and then looked for hair. I have plenty of unspun fiber, but I could never get it working quite right. I ended up using yarn to make Rasta-headed pumpkins with some of my not so successful hand-spun yarn.

rastapumpkins-7nov10

I also carved a pumpkin.

pumpkins-7nov10

The one of the left is ceramic. The one on the right is the one I carved. It was harder to carve than I thought it would be. I had a few knife slips but nothing too obvious.

Once I ran out of candy, I went across the street where they always have an open house on Halloween to help them give out candy. I swear I thought I had bought enough candy but it was still a fun night.

katie-7nov10

“Mom, I don’t see anything in here for me.” – Katie

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 8, 2010 1:03 PM

    Those wee pumpkin fluffheads are so cute!! And your pumpkin turned out really cool.

    Thanks for the kind words about linkity. 😀

Leave a Reply

