Skip to content

Cloudy With a Chance of Tornados

April 23, 2010

Jane of Not Plain Jane is having a celebration and making a donation to the Gynecologic Cancer Foundation for every comment she gets on her April 4th post until April 28th.  Then at the end of the month she will be awarding prizes. Go over there now. I’ll wait here until you come back.

That title is our forecast for the weekend. It’s been feast or famine with the weather here. I swear I think every day in January, February and March had rain or snow. In April we’ve had not one drop of rain.  But not to fret, they’re predicting heavy thunderstorms and tornados for the weekend.  I’d be satisfied with just a shower here and there.

We have had some beautiful weather and  flowers though. There’s the redbud trees,

Redbud Blooms

and the apple trees, and now suddenly everything is green.

Apple Blossom

I’ve been playing with fiber.  A while back I received a booklet called "Bonding and Beyond" on bonding fabrics and fibers and stuff together.  I also saw an article in Cloth Paper Scissors on doing a similar thing with a different technique.  So I layered some fabric, some fiber, some ribbons and other stuff. Then I did a bit of machine stitching and bonded it into a bowl-like shape with some Ultra Sulky.  I might do a little more work on it. I have no idea what I’ll do with it but, hey, I had fun. I’m sure I’ll try it again some time.

Fiber Bowl

I think Chris guessed correctly about Clyde and the black footprints in the sink.  She said it looked like garbage disposal / drain gunk. It did seem a little greasy so I think she’s right. Here’s some more subdued ferret activities.

zoeclyde-apr2010

"It’s not in here, Clyde." โ€“ Zoe

"Uh oh, it’s not in here either." – Clyde

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 24, 2010 10:00 AM

    Nice, vaguely terrifying forecast! We had thunder and lightning this morning, plus some good rain. Yay!

    The bowl looks pretty cool. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. April 24, 2010 7:49 PM

    Thank you, Sydney! I hope your rain is just rain, and not a tornado!

  3. April 25, 2010 9:37 AM

    I’ve been watching the news. My mother’s sister lives in MS but is not near the area where the tornado hit. There’s an area within 30 minutes of us here in Ohio that they call “tornado alley” because they’ve been hit so many times. They’re scary!

  4. April 25, 2010 5:35 PM

    I hope your weather has been uneventful this weekend!

    Thanks for sharing Jane’s post. She is truly an inspiration to all.

    Your bowl is interesting to me — I’ve never seen anything like that. I’ve been wondering about “fiber art” after reading about it in the knitting mystery book, so this was neat to see!

  5. April 25, 2010 6:40 PM

    No tornados here. We just had a lot of much needed rain and a little lightning.

  6. April 27, 2010 11:12 AM

    That bowl is cool! Although from the picture I thought it was first a piece of art glass.

    Good that there were no tornados, apparently they had some here in St. Louis over the weekend, no damage, we were in Peoria so it obviously didn’t effect us.

  7. April 27, 2010 3:14 PM

    Glad the bad weather spared you – we had pretty much the same. So sorry for those that were affected!

Leave a comment